our diocese

Bangalore Diocese

Bangalore Diocese consists of 21 parishes, three chapels and a congregation in the regions of Karnataka, Andhra Presesh and UAE. The number of Orthodox families in the diocese is about 4,250. There are 25 priests serving in these parishes and congregation.

Metropolitan of the Diocese: Vibrant, energetic and worshipping is His Grace Dr. Abraham Mar Seraphim. May god guide His Grace to continue the able administration of the Diocese to develoment and fruitful growth.



H.H.Moran Mar Baselios Mar Thoma Paulose II
Supreme Head of our Church


Dr. Abraham Mar Seraphim
Diocesan Metropolitan

With grace and blessings of the Almighty Father, the Son & the Holy Spirit and by the prayers of our saints, the newly formed Bangalore Diocese has successfully completed its first year of existence. The office functions at Bangalore St Gregorios Cathedral parsonage complex.

Spiritual Organisations

Spiritual organisations like Martha Mariam Vanitha Samajam, MGOCSM & Youth League, Sunday School, Prayer Fellowship meetings are functioning well in the Diocese under the leadership of its office bearers. Dr. Mrs Lalitha Oommen as Martha Mariam Vanitha Samajam Secretary, Mr. Ajith Mathew George as MGOCSM & Youth League Secretary & Mr. K C Thomas as Sunday School Director are carrying out their responsibilities well at the Diocesan level.

Andhra Mission

Andhra Mission started at Eluru village in Andhra Pradesh is functioning well. It is being looked after by the pre seminarians. Mr. Raju Daniel, the treasurer helps in its administration. A physiotherapy room was constructed and added to the infrastructure. Thanks to the contribution made by the members of our churches in Hyderabad, Ramagunda School management and all well wishers who have donated to a good cause.

Events and Activities


The following churches were reconstructed and consecrated by our Diocesan Metropolitan during the year:

St Mary’s Orthodox Church, Mardhala

St Gregorios Orthodox Church, Nelliady

St Mary’s Orthodox Church, Kalanja

St Mary’s Orthodox Church, Narasimharajapura

A new chapel was built at Begur by the St Gregorios Orthodox Cathedral. Our Metropolitan consecrated the chapel and declared it an independent parish: St Mary’s Orthodox Church, Begu

Pilgrim Centres

St.Gregorios Indian Orthodox Church, Fujairah, UAE, St Gregorios Orthodox Church, Mysore and St George Orthodox Church, Indiranagar were declared as Gregorian Pilgrim Centres by the Kalpana of His Holiness, the Catholicose.

Regional Orthodox Convention

The fifth Orthodox convention of the Bangalore region – Meltho 2010 was held over three days at the India Campus Crusade for Christ Auditorium under the leadership of then diocesan Metropolitan H G Abraham Mar Epiphanios. The convention discourses were lead by Rev. Fr. Joji K Joy. Members of all Orthodox parishes of the Bangalore region attended the convention.

Diocese At A Glance

Supreme Head of our Church:H.H.Moran Mar Baselios Mar Thoma Paulose II
Head of the Diocese:H.G.Abraham Mar Seraphim Metropolitan
First Asst. Metropolitan:H.G. Abraham Mar Epiphanios
Diocese Formed in:2008
Head Quarters:Bishop’s House, St.Gregorios Orthodox Cathedral
No.18, Hosur Road, Richmond Town, Bangalore-560025 Ph-080 22114835, 22248201
Priests: 23
Deacons:& Ordinands: 4
Parishes & Congregation:21/01
Jurisdiction:Karnataka,Andhra Pradesh,
Fujairah, Dibba, Rasal khaima (United Arab Emirates)

Praising God Almighty for his abundant blessings and providence, and seeking the intercessional prayers of St Mary, our patron saint St Thomas, St Gregorios of Parumala, St Dionysius and all other saints.